RSS Feed

merry & bright

So I have been WAY behind blogging about our Christmas. I feel like every day on my calendar has said “GO!” on it for the past week… which is always a good thing! Hubby and I just made nachos at home and now we are vegging out watching our Heels dominate in basketball. So for this very point in time, my calendar says “STOP! (and blog for Pete’s sake!)

Christmas was so much fun this year. Come to think of it, when is it ever not fun? I love the joy, the giving spirit, the family get-togethers, the anticipation, the FOOD (mmmmm), and just EVERYTHING! I am sad to see it go but we are one day away from another year… a fresh start… a line in the sand… and I am so excited about bringing in 2010.

So our annual gig on Christmas Eve is to get everyone together on Philip’s side of the family. SO much fun! It’s rare we get to see everyone throughout the year so we cram all of the catching up into Christmas Eve. And of course, everyone makes their “signature” dish and we all chow down on some good home cookin’.

Every moment spent with the McCleary girls is always a good time.

These lovely ladies are Sarah and Jamie, both PBs cousins (i’ll claim them too! :)). I only get to see Jamie once a year (she is a producer out in LA… go girl!) so I love getting to catch up with her and hear her stories.

Meet Carmel and her granddaughter Jordan. Carmel is my mom-in-law’s twin sister and I love love love her!

Little did she know that when she got home on Christmas Eve, her honey bunny Larry was waiting for her with a ring in hand ready to propose. So congrats to the future Mr. & Mrs. Beasley! I am so excited for these two lovebirds!

We wrapped up the evening singing Christmas Carols. We have two VERY talented singers in the fam. Miss Megan and Jeremy. They led us in the singing and it was a great way to wrap up the get together. They wanted to take it outdoors but ummm… it was way too cold! :)

After we left the Turlington family shindig, PB and I along with his Mom & Dad came to our house for our gift exchange…. everyone was sooooo excited with their gifts! Gifts is totally my love language so I take great pleasure in watching everyone open what I have picked out for them. It’s my highlight!

And the big shocker of the evening… and well… the biggest shock in a long time was my MacBook. I had NO clue I was getting it but I am so so very glad I did! So I am now officially a fully converted Mac user and boy does it feel GREAT! :) I think my face shows just a snippit of how excited I was…

The next morning we woke up and had Christmas breakfast at my parents house and spent a lot of time with my family. My Nanny was there so that was ultra special! I think she had a blast! I love watching my niece open her gifts… she gets SOOOO excited about every single one. This year she is completely into Barbie stuff so that’s pretty much all she got… Barbie this and Barbie that but let me tell you, she though she was hot stuff when she got her Barbie laptop. I love this girl!

OK so for years Mom has always wanted a good portrait of her youngin’s. We kept telling her we would do it and it kept getting pushed off so finally this year we did it! A good friend of ours has just started her photography business so we snatched her up before she got too busy! They were great! Look at Mom’s facial expression… she was so totally surprised and I think that was my favorite gift reaction of the day. Period. I included the photo we framed underneath for your viewing pleasure.

Let me tell you just how much I love stocking stuffers. Well I guess I just did. Mom put these fancy little things in our stockings and it has become my new best friend. I know they’ve been out for a while but I never gave them a chance! And of course, well… they make funny pictures! :)

And to wrap the morning up with a bow, me and my sissy with our Nanny. She had just got done chowing down on her chocolate in her stocking so pardon her chocolatey goodness teeth. :D

It was the perfect Christmas Day. We wrapped the day up with a steak and potato dinner at our house. We started a new tradition this year. Rather than traveling elsewhere for 2 days straight, we had both my family and PBs family over to our house for steaks on the grill, sweet potato fries, Mom’s super yummy potato casserole and steamed broccoli. I love hosting people in our home so it was perfect!

I hope you had a fabulous time celebrating Christmas as well and cherished the true meaning of the day… the greatest gift of all, Jesus! Love you all and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

