RSS Feed

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

St. Patrick’s Day has always been a tradition in our house as I was growing up. If for some reason I’m ever caught not wearing green on St. Patty’s, I simply state that having red hair and the last name “Sullivan” should make me exempt from the pinch! Am I right or am I right? :)

This morning, I should be working but there is a man changing out my work computer so I’m pretty much twiddling my thumbs around the house until he is finished… so I decided to look up some history about St. Patrick’s Day… I’m a stickler for history and found some of this stuff pretty fascinating!

OK so here are my bullet points :)
-Contrary to popular belief, St. Patty’s is actually a religious holiday. St. Patrick spent 30 years spreading the Word of God throughout Ireland. Over the years it has gotten watered down by people using it as an excuse to go on pub crawls and get schnockered with their green dyed beer.
-The shamrock is associated with St. Patty’s day because St. Patrick used these in his teachings to explain the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.
-St. Patty’s is believed to be considered a one day break from Lent… kind of a halfway point I suppose.
-Originally, the color associated with St. Patrick’s Day was blue.
-The Celtic Cross: Early Pagans would go around drawing circles on rocks, trees, etc. as some sort of idolatry to worship. Whenever St. Patrick would come across these circles, he would draw a cross through them… hence the Celtic Cross. (that was my favorite learning of the day)

My favorite memory of St. Patrick’s Day is my Nanny making everyone crocheted shamrocks to wear. They looked a little something like this.

To this day, I cannot find any that she made me… after all the times I’ve moved I guess they have just gotten misplaced. So Mom & Dad, if you’re reading this let me know if you have any extra! :)

As I looked around at other traditions around the country and saw that Chicago dyes their river GREEN! That’s a lot of dye… but so cool! I would love to see this in person. I absolutely love this picture.

Now after all this stuff the leprechaun slides down the rainbow and rescues the pot of gold… I didn’t research that stuff but you know the drill :)

I’m looking forward to tonight… we’ve (semi) started a tradition with the Ridouts having corned beef and cabbage for dinner! I’m not sure what corned beef is, but I’ve decided not to research that either… ha! So off I go to make some green cupcakes for dessert.

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day, everyone!

One response »

  1. Great post! Thanks for the history lesson…loved the pic from Chicago.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

